睾酮低(性腺机能减退)是勃起功能障碍的一个原因

 Alex Shteynshlyuger 医生


如果你有任何问题, 需要 预约咨询 或者需要 二次诊断, 请 联系我们 或拨打 1-(646) 663-5211.

经全美医疗委员会认证的纽约泌尿专科医院的医生是男科方面的专家,擅长医治睾酮低和勃起功能障碍等问题。


什么是睾酮低?

性腺机能减退或睾酮低是在身体不能产生足够荷尔蒙的情况下发生,并导致正常的心理或性行为无法进行。对男性而言,性腺机能减退是由于睾酮也就是男性荷尔蒙的值比较低引起的。睾酮低可能造成不育或男性生长问题以及其他一些症状。 性腺机能减退也可能是因为雄性激素和雌性激素之间失去平衡引起的。

男性睾酮低的迹象和症状

Low T Treatment in NYC

睾酮低和勃起障碍

性腺机能减退会导致一系列症状的产生,每个个体之间也会有差异。在 胎儿生长期间性腺机能减退会导致生殖器官有女性特征, 或男性生殖器官发育不全。

儿童时期, 睾酮低或缺失会阻止第二性征出现, 表现为肌肉群较少 , 身体瘦长,骨质疏松,阴茎不发育, 不长阴毛,和声线高。

 

成年时期, 睾酮低会引起 不育, 乳房发育 (男子女性型乳房 或男性乳房), 性欲低下和勃起功能障碍。肌肉群消失和骨质密度降低也有可能发生。萎靡不振和精力不济也是睾酮低的症状 。

性腺机能减退和勃起障碍

性腺机能减退会导致勃起障碍。它是导致男性阳痿的一个重要原因。睾酮低也会造成性欲减退。

治疗因性腺机能减退造成的勃起障碍

为了治疗睾酮低引起的勃起障碍, 就必须治疗性腺机能减退。除此之外,用药物 治疗勃起障碍 比如服用伟哥和西力士等可以同步进。 很多时候对睾酮低的治疗可以改善或转变勃起功能障碍。其他情况下,患者需要双管齐下治疗勃起障碍和睾酮低 。

胎儿生长期产生的先天性性腺机能减退是无法治疗的 (这是很少见的情况 )。

孩童时期或成年时期发生的性腺机能减退可以得到有效治疗,只要找到成因,用荷尔蒙替代法即可。

诊断睾酮水平是否低可以通过血检完成。 建议在清晨做血检,因为那样结果最准确。如果检测出来睾酮值比较低,那就需要重复检测,来确认发现。  睾酮值一天内会有起伏,早晨的值最高,晚上最低。每天的状态也不尽相同。所以,一旦发现睾酮值低,就需要反复测试,以证明这个值是真正低。

对于继发性性腺机能减退, 治疗集中在矫正脑垂体的疾病,以及替代造成睾酮低的脑垂体荷尔蒙。

对于原发性性腺机能减退, 比如睾丸衰竭, 治疗主要集中在替换身体内的睾酮。睾酮替代疗法在治疗勃起功能障碍和其他一些由睾酮低引起的症状方面卓见成效。 对于青少年来说,  睾酮替代疗法作用明显,可以让患者经历正常的青春期,避免成年后的不育症。睾酮替代疗法可以通过注射,贴片,涂抹啫喱,嚼口香糖或口服药片等方式进行。

对于想要生育的男性来说,使用睾酮替代疗法(TRT)时必须采用些特别的措施, 以免抑制睾丸的功能。

肌肉注射通常是一种安全有效的方法。只要每两周打一针,就能维持正常的血液水平。

用贴片或涂抹啫喱的方式进行睾酮替代疗法的,可以一日一次,在背部,大腿,腹部或手臂上贴或涂抹。

对于生育年龄的男性, 睾酮替代疗法可以导致不育。这种情况下,服用可以激发睾酮产生的药物要比直接替代睾酮更好。

性腺机能减退的男性勃起障碍的生物学解释

睾酮是由睾丸里的睾丸间质细胞分泌的雄性性激素。睾酮由脑下垂体产生的黄体化激素(LH)控制,   LH和刺激卵泡的激素或者FSH一起从脑下垂体的前端释放出来。 FSH不直接释放睾酮, 但是掌管精子的产生。睾酮则负责胎儿发育期男性性器官的产生 。婴儿出生后,睾酮在第二性征的产生方面起重要作用,包括毛发的分布,声线变醋,和男性性器官的发育。 到后面成年时期, 睾酮直接影响性欲,所以在性方面举足轻重。

性腺机能减退分原发性和继发性。原发性性腺机能减退,通常是由睾酮合成缺陷或 由变异引起的睾酮受体不敏感造成的。可能的成因还有自身免疫病, 感染,肿瘤,手术,辐射或先天性疾病比如克兰费尔特综合征。

如果是继发性性腺功能减退, 睾酮的合成机制是完整无缺的, 但在刺激睾酮产生的刺激源里或者有某种缺陷,该缺陷直接影响FSH及LH的量减少。这个问题可能源自下丘脑或更常见于脑下垂体。引起继发性性腺机能减退的原因包括创伤,肿瘤,感染,基因问题或营养不良。

性腺机能减退可能一出生就有,那种情况称为 先天性性腺功能减退。 先天性性腺功能减退可能是因为发育失常, 或者是由于生物合成机制的基因改变。 获得性性腺功能减退症是后天得的, 通常出现在成人时期,成因可能是下丘脑和脑下垂体的异常状态或 睾丸衰竭。精索静脉曲张 也是原发性性腺机能减退的病因,可以医治。

了解更多:

需要了解的信息:


如果你有任何问题, 需要 预约咨询 或者需要 二次诊断, 请 联系我们 或拨打 1-(646) 663-5211.

我们提供性价比高的泌尿专科治疗,有无保险均可就医。 查询我们的 办公时间或地址。我们的门诊时间包括平时,周末和晚间。


This post is also available in: 英语 俄语 阿拉伯语 日语 西班牙语

Leave a Reply

Low Testosterone (Hypogonadism) as a Cause of Erectile Dysfunction (ED)

by Alex Shteynshlyuger MD


If you have any questions, to schedule a consultation or if you need a second opinion, please contact us or call 1-(646) 663-5211.

Board certified urologists at New York Urology Specialists are subject-matter experts in treatment of low testosterone and erectile dysfunction in New York City.   


What is Low Testosterone?

Hypogonadism or low testosterone levels occur when the body does not produce enough sex hormones to carry out normal physiological or sexual processes in the body.  In men, hypogonadism is caused by low testosterone level which is the male sex hormone. It can lead to infertility or developmental problems in men and a number of other symptoms. Hypogonadism may also occur due to imbalance between testosterone and estrogen levels.

Signs and Symptoms of Low Testosterone Levels in Men

Low T Treatment in NYC

Low testosterone and ED Treatment

Hypogonadism can produce a variety of symptoms, which vary between individuals. Hypogonadism during fetal life can lead to development of female-like genitalia, or poorly developed male sexual organs.

During childhood, low or absent testosterone will prevent the attainment of secondary sexual characteristics, which will be manifest as less muscle mass, long stature, bone weakness, lack of penile growth and lack of pubic hair growth, and high pitched voice.

In adult life, low testosterone levels can cause infertility, development of breasts (gynaecomastia or man-boobs), loss of libido and erectile dysfunction. Loss of muscle mass and decreased bone density may also occur.  Malaise and lack of energy can be caused by low testosterone levels, as well as many other causes.

Hypogonadism and Erectile Dysfunction

Hypogonadism can cause erectile dysfunction. It is a very important cause of impotence in males. A low level of testosterone can also cause a low libido, or decreased sexual desire.

Treatment for Erectile Dysfunction due to Hypogonadism

In order to treat erectile dysfunction caused by low testosterone levels, it is necessary to treat hypogonadism.  In addition to that, treatment for erectile dysfunction with medications such as Viagra and Cialis can be started. Often treatment of low testosterone levels improves or reverses erectile dysfunction.  Other times, men require treatment of both erectile dysfunction and low testosterone levels.

It is not possible to treat congenital hypogonadism during fetal life (this is a very rare condition).

Hypogonadism that occurs during childhood or adult life can be treated  very effectively  by addressing the cause, or by hormone replacement therapy.

Diagnosis of low testosterone levels is established by a blood test.    An early morning blood test is advised as it is gives the most accurate results. If low testosterone levels are discovered, the test needs to be repeated to confirm the findings.  Testosterone levels fluctuate during the day, with levels highest in the morning and lowest in the evening. They also vary day-to-day.  As a result, low levels need to be repeated to verify that they are truly low.

For secondary hypogonadism, treatment is targeted at the correction of disease in the pituitary and replacement of pituitary hormones that may induce production of testosterone by testes.

For primary hypogonadism, e.g. in testicular failure, treatment is targeted at replacement of testosterone in the body. Testosterone replacement therapy is useful in correcting the erectile dysfunction and a number of other symptoms associated with low testosterone in adults. In young boys, testosterone replacement therapy is effective in bringing about a normal puberty and preventing infertility in later life. Testosterone replacement therapy can be in the form of injection, patch, gel, gum or oral tablets.

In men who are planning to have children, special approach must be undertaken during testosterone replacement therapy (TRT) to avoid suppressing testicular function.

Injections are usually safe and effective and given via intramuscular route. Normally a single shot every two weeks is all that is required for normal blood levels.

Testosterone replacement therapy in the form of a patch  or gel can be applied once a day, either on the back, thigh, abdomen or arm.

In men of reproductive age, testosterone replacement can cause infertility. In these men, treatment with medications that stimulate testosterone production instead of giving testosterone is a better option.

Biological Explanation for ED in Men with Hypogonadism

Testosterone is the male sex hormone that is secreted by Leydig cells in the testicles. Testosterone synthesis is controlled by luteinizing hormone, LH, produced in the pituitary gland. LH is released from the anterior pituitary gland along with follicle stimulating hormone or FSH. FSH is not responsible for testosterone release, but controls the maturation of sperm. Testosterone is responsible for development of the male sexual organs during fetal life. After birth, it plays a major role in development of secondary sexual characteristics, including hair pattern, deepening of the voice and development of male genitalia. Later on in life, testosterone is responsible for maintenance of libido, i.e. desire for sex, and thus plays a major role in sexuality.

Hypogonadism may be primary or secondary.  Primary hypogonadism is usually caused by defective synthesis of testosterone or testosterone receptor insensitivity due to a mutation. It may be due to autoimmune disease, infection, tumors, surgery, radiation or congenital diseases such as Klinefelter syndrome.

In secondary hypogonadism, the testosterone biosynthetic machinery is intact, but there may be a defect in the stimulus for the production of testosterone, and this defect is usually linked to a decreased production of FSH and LH.  The problem may originate in the hypothalamus or more commonly in the pituitary gland. The causes of secondary hypogonadism include trauma, tumors, infection, genetic causes or nutritional deficiencies.

Hypogonadism may be present at birth, in which case it is known as congenital hypogonadism.  Congenital hypogonadism may be due to developmental disorders, or it may be due to genetic alterations of the biosynthetic machinery. Acquired hypogonadism is a type which develops later in life, usually during adulthood and can be due to pathology in the hypothalamus and pituitary gland or testicular failure.  Varicocele is another treatable cause of primary hypogonadism.

Learn More About:

What You Need to Know:

 


If you have any questions, to schedule a consultation or if you need a second opinion, please contact us or call 1-(646) 663-5211.

We offer affordable, highest-quality urology care with or without insurance.   Find out our office hours or directions to our office. We offer weekday, weekend and evening office hours.


This post is also available in: Russian Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Japanese Spanish

Top